A Crimson Cry

The Day of Silent Solidarity organized by Bryan Kemper was on October 19th this year.  Jenna, a high school student,  shared her story from this sacred day of silence for the unborn who have no voice. 

A Crimsom Cry

 “The day began and just as any other I grabbed my back pack and my binders and got ready to go to school. This day many would declare was just the same as the day before and would be the same as the day after, but I must say they were wrong. This day was pro-life day, the day when I, a normal student, receives an opportunity to make a profound difference. By forfeiting my right to speak and wearing a strip of red tape, today I might help make a change in the world; on this day I might transform a person’s ideas about abortion, and I may help save a child from an untimely death, allowing it the opportunity to live out the remarkable life the Lord has planned for it. Having a zero period, I arrived at school when the halls were nearly vacant. Walking up the stairs I came to my class; entering the room I removed the role of tape from my back pack. Seemingly unimportant, a crimson colored piece of duct tape, on normal days only used as a tool, a quick fix, but today it was a uniform, a statement, screaming to humanity far louder than I ever could “Wake up, from your slumber of indifference and be aware of the injustices of this world!”

On the tape I scrawled in my usual, terrible writing a simple word, and yet, a poorly understood words, a terribly powerful and profound word, “Life,” and prepared for my day. Going to a Christian school I did not have anxiety about some of the factors those going to public schools would have to cope with. My greatest fear was one of comforts. Without adversity Christians have the ability to become complacent, and in this complacency I feared people would not see the importance of a cry for life. I entered that first class as a normal teen; I left it as a silent cry for justice. This cry was heard immediately. Staring, some with a look of confusion others with a look as though saying “look at her she is crazy,” and every once in a while a smile of understanding, my fellow students quickly studied me on their way to class. As the day progressed a few friends asked me for tape, placing it on their arms and jeans in support of the day.

This led to an interesting event. Arriving at my fifth period English class a friend presented me with a question that made me think. Approaching me in her usual confident manner she told me that she had seen several people with tape on but I was the only one with it on their mouth; she then asked me if I was just an extreme supporter of the day. Having my mouth bound I could not tell her that the entire purpose of the day was to sacrifice your voice for another; however, this question also cause me to contemplate. Simply placing a piece of tape over my mouth I was seen as extreme. How easy is it to be silent for a single day when it means being a voice for thousands that could never speak for themselves, this one act outside what is seen as normal or acceptable has the power to make people think of me as extreme. Is this how overly comfortable we had become, to believe that a strip of tape was extreme?

This thought led me to a revelation; there was power in that small ribbon of red. Surrounded by a world that expects protests filled with yelling and picketing, like clanging cymbals being tuned out and losing their meanings, I was doing the opposite of what was expected; being quiet and praying the tape was making the loudest statement possible, and through this statement, hopefully I was causing a change. After class I strode into the hall, expecting it to appear the same way it did at the beginning of the day. Advancing through the corridor I still received a few confused looks but I also began to notice something else. Passing students I began to see intermitted patches of red. Others, young men and women were answering the call and taking their stand. This was important and exciting to me. A group of youth praying to God for a change, no matter how small the group, has the ability to change the world and that was exactly what they were doing, changing the world, even if that change is not seen.

I spent lunch interceding, obviously for the end of abortion, but also more than that. Healing is needed, for those who have already had the procedure done, for the doctors that have decided to participate in Planned Parenthood and other abortion clinics, and for all those that have been affected by abortion. No matter how pained I feel about the innocent being taken before they are allowed to live out the plans God has made for them I had to remember that pro-life day is not a day of condemnation but of love and of healing. While praying I had to bear in mind the fact that the Lord is a God of compassion and love as well as justice and in order to pray according to his will I needed to live with that same heart. After lunch my day was all but over. My math class was the only class left. Uneventful and simple, it was a good time to ponder upon the events during the day. Afterwards my stand for pro-life day was completed. I removed the tape, now worn and tired, and flexed my jaws that were not used to keeping still for that long a time. With a final prayer my tape was placed in the trash and my day was done. All I can hope and pray is that this day, this statement, affected something. If one person decided against abortion or one child was saved that makes every part of pro-life day worth it.”

by Jenna –  a pro-LIFE high school student

Leave a Reply

